Tuesday, 9 March 2010

The curse of the curse

It's March, so time for those lazy pieces about the Veuve Clicquot Businesswoman of the Year award being cursed. Is it really?
Sure, Nikki Beckett of NSB Retail Systems issued a profit warning shortly after collecting her gong in 2000 - a setback that came after 1988 winner Sophie Mirman saw her Sock Shop slip into administration.
But, since inception in 1974, that's about it, while other winners include Body Shop founder Dame Anita Roddick (1985), Stagecoach's Ann Gloag (1990), Pearson's Dame Marj Scardino (1998), LK Bennett's Linda Bennett (2003) and Alexander Mann's Rosaleen Blair (2007).
Some curse.

No comments: